Advice and answers from the Device Magic Team

Why should I switch from connections to destinations?

Device Magic has introduced Destinations to replace Connections — Connections were our original method of choosing an end point for the data you collected with your forms, however your options were fairly limited; Destinations are much more powerful and give you more choice about how your data is sent and saved.

Second, Google has updated its API since we initially built Connections and the Connection to Google Spreadsheet has been returning errors for some customers.

If your Google spreadsheets data is getting stuck, see our document on how to get your data unstuck. 

How to Move Your Account from Connections to Destinations

There are two parts to moving your form data from Connections to Destinations.

  1. First, you'll need to set up a Destination for your form.
  2. Then you'll need to delete the old Connection.

Step 1: Creating A New Destination

In order to set up a destination for your form, you first need to go to www.devicemagic.com and log in to your account. Then navigate to the Forms page.

Here you will see a column labeled "Destinations", click the link to the right of your form name in this column.

Note: If there are no destinations added to your account, this button will read "0"

This will take you to the "Destinations" page, where you will next need to click "New Destination".

You will then be taken to a page that gives options as to where you would like to send the data. Then, choose which format you would like to use to send your form data.

At this point, if you are on a paid plan, you will also see that you can specify to have your images, signatures and sketches sent to a different destination.

Once you've made these selections, additional configuration options may appear based on the format and destination you've chosen.

For example, if you choose to have a Google Spreadsheet document created with your data, you'll see the following configuration options.

Follow the on-screen directions - which, if you're choosing to send your images to a different destination, may involve authorizing with Dropbox.

Once you've done this, simply click "Create Destination" to save the settings and start sending form data to your new destination!

The whole process will likely take you no more than 5 minutes.

Step 2: Removing Old Connections

To avoid duplicate data, you'll also need to delete your old connections. We recommend adding your destination first, before deleting your connections, to ensure your data doesn't get "stuck" or lost if someone submits data while you're editing your account.

To remove an old connection navigate back to your form's summary page. Then, click on the "Remote Connections" button.

This will open up a list of all the connections you currently have active on your account. Review this list to make sure you've recreated all the necessary Destinations following the steps above.

Note: You'll also notice a large warning at the top of the screen reminding you that you can no longer add new connections and will see that the "Add new Connection" button at the bottom of the screen has been disabled.

Once you've done that, use this screen to delete your existing connections. To delete a Connection simply click on the "delete" button to the right of each connection.

And that's it! You'll have officially moved your account from Connections to Destinations.

Did this answer your question?